Thorns Primary School

Safe - Happy - Learning


Website Search

Website Login

Thorns Primary School Curriculum


Our curriculum is built on on the statutory content of the National Curriculum and the EYFS framework. In Early Years, the curriculum is led by the child's interests and content is planned around this to develop their knowledge and understanding. From Years 1-6 is knowledge-based and taught as individual subject areas, rather than topics. This enables the children to have a greater understanding of how their progress in a subject develops and allows them to make links with prior learning in this subjects.

Our curriculum is underpinned by using Chris Quigley Essentials Curriculum which breaks down the content to form smaller chunks called 'Threshold Concepts' and within these progress is made towards 'Milestones', which span a two year period and are split in to Cycle A and Cycle B. The Milestones allow for a greater immersion in the unit of work over a longer period of time in order to develop knowledge and acquire key skills.

In order for the children to develop personal skills, there is also focus on Learning Powers which enable to children to understand how they can be more effective learners, which enable to children to understand how they can be more effective learners.

Further information about each of these can be found by clicking the links below.

A School Life Website
School Life iOS Mobile Application
School Life Android Mobile Application