Thorns Primary School

Safe - Happy - Learning



Meet the Governors

Thorns Primary Governing Board are a group of 9 people made up of School staff, parents and others with a keen passion to ensure that the children of Thorns Primary receive the best education possible. Governors have 3 main roles.  

  • To ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • To hold the Headteacher to account for the education performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of the staff
  • To oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure that the money is well spent (Governance Handbook DfE (March 2019)

    As a Governing Board, we have a range of expertise to ensure that these 3 functions are fulfilled. We meet regularly throughout the academic year as a Governing Board in order to carry out these functions.   We meet as a Full Governing Board once each term when we all discuss, question and challenge the leadership of the School. We do not have Committees as such but conduct our work during our two full Governing Body meetings. We have two committee meetings each term, School Improvement and Finanance, Personnel, Premises. We have Link Governors which is when we visit School to carry out first-hand monitoring. We have the chance to talk to the children and to experience life at Thorns Primary for ourselves. We also visit School at other times for example to support with reading.


    Governing Board List 2021/22
    Name and Category Term Start Term Ends
    Mrs R Dalgleish - Chair of Governors / Parent Governor 19.07.2016 28.06.2024
    Mrs R Jordan - Head Teacher 1.09.2018 Ex Officio
    Mrs J Snow - Vice Chair 13.09.2019 13.09.2023
    Mrs J Lane - Staff Governor 01.02.2021 31.01.2025
    Mr I Geddes - Co-opted Governor 11.11.2019 10.11.2023
    Mrs J Morgan 15.03.2021 14.03.2025
    Mrs L Parry 15.03.2021 14.03.2025
    School Improvement Committee Finance, Personnel and Premises Committee
    Rebecca Jordan Rebecca Jordan
    Jane Morgan Jane Morgan
    Joanne Lane Jill Snow
    Linda Parry Rebecca Dalgleish
    Ian Geddes
    Appraisal Committee Pay Committee
    Rebecca Dalgleish Jane Morgan
    Jill Snow Ian Geddes
    Linda Parry

    Register of Governors' Business Interests 2021/2022

    Mrs R Dalgleish Manager of Private Pre-School rented from Thorns Primary.

    Mrs J Snow  Dudley MBC (Employee), Windsor Academy Trust (Employee), West Midlands Police (Employee), The Kingswinford Academy (LAB member), Wren's Nest Primary School (Governor)  

    Mrs J Morgan co-opted Governor Roberts Primary School and Local Authority Governor at Dawley Brook Primary School


    Governors who have served in the last 12 months

    Name Category and date resigned

    Mrs K Bennett Staff Governor 08.10.2020

    Mrs M Cowley LA Governor 21/09/2021

    Dawn Campbell Parent Governor 11/01/22

    Kate Parkes Staff Governor 07/03/2022

    A School Life Website
    School Life iOS Mobile Application
    School Life Android Mobile Application